Dr. Subhash Gupta

Brief Profile

Prof. Subhash Gupta is the President of The Center for Liver and Biliary Sciences. He has acquired an outstanding reputation in the field of Liver Transplantation comprehensive management of complex conditions of Liver, Biliary tree and Pancreas. The Center has a highly qualified team Surgeons that has performed number of Living Donor as well as deceased donor liver Transplants. In 2013, the Team has also Helped other Centres within India and abroad to set up liver transplantation. The Team has helped hospitals in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Kazakhstan and results are comparable to those of the most acclaimed Centers around the world.Complex Liver resections for advanced cancers of the Liver, Gall bladder and bile ducts Cholangiocarcinoma are performed regularly at CLBS with gratifying results. Surgical procedures are complemented by an advanced intervention radiology setup that deals with procedures such as Channelisation, radio frequency ablation and per cutaneous alcohol injection into tumor tissue.


Awards & Recognization:

  • He has pioneered the development of Living Donor Liver Transplant (LDLT) in India
  • He has published over 30 papers on different aspects of Living Donor liver transplant in indexed journals
  • He has been honored with the position of Professorship in Surgery from Apollo Health Education and Research Foundation
  • The Institute of Post Graduate Education and Medical Research, Kolkata has also honored him with the position of Professor of Liver Transplantation
  • Delhi Medical Association awarded him with a Gold    Medal in 2005. The Rotary Association of India has honored him for excellence in clinical medicine in 2012
  • In 2012, the Delhi Medical Association honored him with the award of Vishist  Chikitsh Rattan (Distinguished Clinician) on Doctor’s Day
  • In 2014, he & has team were one of the finalists for the category “Surgical team of the year” for BMJ India   awards
  • Apollo Health foundation has made him an honorary Professor of Surgery
  • In 2016, the Uttar Pradesh government has awarded him the prestigious “YASH BHARTI” award
  • In 2016, the Medical Council of India has awarded him the prestigious “B.C. Roy” award
  • In 2016, he was also awarded “The Honorary Professor of Kazakistan”